Skip to content

Grow Your Own Indoor Herbs

herbs

Salt Lake City Green joined forces with KUTV2 this morning to show viewers how easy it is to grow your own indoor herb garden! View the segment.

Tools

  • Planter – choose one with excellent drainage.
  • A few of your favorite herbs – we love basil, oregano, rosemary, parsley and thyme.
  • Watering can
  • Potting soil – use a few rocks at the bottom of your planter to improve drainage.

Getting Started

If you are a novice gardener or don’t have much of a green thumb, growing an indoor culinary herb garden is an easy place to start. Most herbs are sun worshipers, so all you need to get started is a nice, sunny place in your home.

Plant

  • Start with a container large enough to accommodate growth.
  • Fill the pot with soil three quarters of the way full.
  • Moisten the soil
  • Remove herbs, loosen soil.
  • Place herbs in pot and fill with enough soil to cover the root ball.
  • Pat the soil down lightly and water well.

Care

  • Light is the most important element in growing indoor herbs. Find a spot that gets at least 6-8 hours of light a day.
    • Herbs growing long stems and few leaves are probably not getting enough light and are stretching to find it.
  • Water each herb according to its individual needs. To avoid over watering, only water your herbs when you see them start to wilt. This should be about once a week.
  • Regular clipping will promote further growth, so use your herbs frequently. But don’t cut more than a third off at one time.
  • If your herbs start flowering, they are not being clipped enough!

Enjoy!

Growing your own indoor herbs is an easy way to jazz up your cooking and experiment with new flavors — all while saving money. Just remember that fresh herbs have a 3:1 ratio, which means that you should use three times the amount of fresh herbs compared to their dry counterparts.

Bridget Stuchly with SLCGreen shows KUTV2's Mary Nickles how to plant an indoor herb garden.

Bridget Stuchly with SLCGreen shows KUTV2’s Mary Nickles how to plant an indoor herb garden.

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Karen #

    I like how this blog look like. It is such vibrant colour and the content is a great way to learn from in wanting to plant herbs in our own home.

    April 28, 2013
  2. Alyssa Chin #

    The information and steps that you’ve provided is very useful, particularly to those who are very new in herb gardening such as myself. With the beautiful pictures of the herbs, it has created a spark of interest in starting my own organic herb garden. Indeed, I’m quite fond of your blog. Thanks!

    May 1, 2013
  3. Cam.S #

    Hey great explanation on creating an indoor herb garden, i like the fact it is straight to point and explains everything so succinctly. This is exactly the type of information i was looking for as a lot of other blogs went off on tangents about other topics without giving me the actual know how of creating the herb garden. thanks 🙂

    May 10, 2013
  4. I absolutely love this blog post. I reckon that the information is easy to understand and the steps have been well explained and are thus easy to follow. Those, like me, who do not know anything about cultivation, can go through this blog post to get an overview and a thorough step-by –step approach towards the growing of herbs. This blog post has indeed inspired me to start my own cultivation of herbs which has been made so easy with this blog post. Thanks and good going.

    May 15, 2013
  5. Annabelle Xiaoyong Tan #

    What a great blog! The information is very helpful indeed to those who are very new in herb gardening. Speaking of myself, I am interested in anything that is new, but I are seldom fond of planting herb garden at home, now since I have read this blog with clear steps, I would like to grow herb garden at home! Many thanks!

    May 17, 2013
  6. Sophie McKay #

    I found The Green Blog to be a well formatted and user friendly blog. The ‘Grow your own indoor herbs’ page was particularly interesting and relevant to me as I have no background knowledge relating to gardens or plants. The easy to follow, step by step explanation guided me through the tools I would need, steps to plant and the care that I would need to give the plants during their lifetime. The photographs of an established plants and of the planting process were motivational as I was able to see the end result of the activity. I enjoyed exploring this blog and found it to be interactive and useful.

    May 19, 2013
  7. This is the first time I have attempted to start my own indoor herb garden and I found your post and tips very useful! I thoroughly enjoy your blog as not only is it easy to navigate through, but you always use such lovely pictures along with your writing! thoes pictures also inspire me to work hard at my herb garden! thanks! 🙂

    May 20, 2013
  8. This is a great blog, very informative. Thanks! Thought your reader might like this site on drying and storing herbs : http://gardening.about.com/od/vegetablepatch/a/DryingHerbs.htm . Just wondering how much you think it would cost to set up a system like this? Can you suggest a few different herbs that would be good for a start-up herb garden?

    May 20, 2013
  9. Holly #

    Hi, I just wanted to say this is such a great blog. It has shown me how simple and easy it is to create your own herb garden and I will definitely be planting my own soon! Keep up the great work 🙂

    May 21, 2013
  10. Keshya Rassen #

    Your blog is simply so instructive for people. It will help those who do not know how to plant and want to know how. It is easy for beginners to understand how to proceed. I’ve recently read it that gardening helps to decrease stress and to think clearly. I have myself experienced that and sincerely when you see your plants grow, it is really a big self-confidence booster!

    May 22, 2013
  11. Maddie #

    Great blog. An easy to read blog which has given me inspiration to start my own indoor herb garden! I am new to herb gardens and the care I need to take in maintaining one, so I appreciate the way in which your blog seeks to address the basic steps!

    May 22, 2013
  12. Gunadevi Chengalaram #

    This blog is quite interesting. The content is very helpful for nature and plant lovers. The photos provided are very colourful and of good quality. This post, in particular, is very useful to those willing to have their own herb garden but do not know how to proceed. The tips given are very helpful.

    May 22, 2013
  13. Chebet #

    This has given me inspiration! I’m not sure why I haven’t started my own herb garden sooner. Mum and I often cook together and she’s taught me everything I know, particularly the difference herbs make so it would be a fantastic idea.

    Not only is this blog useful its very well organised the pictures are so vibrant and lush if why herbs look anything like that, I’ll be extremely happy.

    May 22, 2013
  14. Ted Pydiah #

    It is so cool to get advice from blog like this one. Having fresh herbs readily available is in our own advantage. No need to buy herbs which we do not know anything about how it was grown. We save money as we do not have to buy them anymore and we will not make any wastage of them as we are going to use the amount that we need only, the rest will still be in the pots.

    May 22, 2013
  15. Hannah #

    The information and steps that you’ve provided is very useful. I have my own herb garden at home and its interesting to see how other people plant and look after their herbs. With the beautiful pictures its making me excited to plant more herbs next summer! Keep up the good work, i will definatly be back on here again!

    May 23, 2013
  16. RooshitaD #

    This blog is very interesting and informative. The tips given will be very useful for people who like gardening. Everything is well-formatted. the information provided is very easy to understand. The steps also are very well explained, thus it is very easy to follow them. its a great way of learning how one can grow his own indoor herb garden. this blog has motivated me to start my own cultivation of herbs.

    May 23, 2013
  17. Madhu Soodeehul #

    It is very useful as I have always wanted to grow my own herbs at home but I had no idea where to start. This is of great use to me and I will surely try this and see if it really works.

    June 5, 2013
  18. I have always loved gardening this past year I received a greenhouse for
    Christmas, and started my herbs indoors for the first time, I had so many starter plants I also made a garden outside. I am where we have 4 seasons so my plan is to bring the greenhouse indoors and plant all winter, I am so glad I have
    found your site the information is amazing. I have recently started a blog of
    my own,I would really love you to stop by and tell me what you think.
    http://theindoorherbgardener.com I am happy to say one day is not enough
    on this blog. Thanks for the amazing article .

    August 6, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 8 Healing Herbs to Grow in Your Garden | The Garden Glove

Leave a comment